Narain Karthikeyan will take the second seat at HRT

Narain Karthikeyan drivng for Jordon in 2005

Narain Karthikeyan Driviing for HRT in 2011

Today HRT  announced that Narain Karthikeyan will drive for the team in 2012.

Narain Karthikeyan will drive alongside Spanish driver Pedro de la Rosa for the 2012 season.

Karthikeyana drove for HRT in 2011 right up until the European grand Prix. He was then replaced by rookie Daniel Ricciardo.  The team stated he was given the seat in order to provide stability while allowing him the chance to gain further confidence in an F1 car.

Karthikeyana said “It has taken a lot of hard work to make this happen but I am absolutely elated to feature on the 2012 grid with HRT F1 Team. I was pleased with our strong performance at the Indian Grand Prix, in front of my passionate home fans and I look forward to building on this result in 2012.

“I have been training hard since the end of 2011, ensuring I was ready for the rigours of F1 if an opportunity arose. I am delighted to have signed with HRT F1 Team. With the new management, Pedro, and the team, there is definite potential for progress”.

Karthikeyana will join the team at the second test in Barcelona.

Leave a comment